What are you going to do now? Femivore?

A dear friend sometimes calls me a femivore. (Just a note, I don’t eat women in any sense of the word.) What she is referring to is the earning of a graduate degree, and the subsequent packing in of in my former high-paying rather crappy paying, but cool job, to raise hens, garden, craft and take care of the ol’ family. Remember that article in the New York Times? The Femivore’s Dilemma? It rubbed a lot of people the wrong way and understandably so.

I’ve been thinking about that term a lot recently as I now get to say ‘I work’ and don’t have to scramble to describe what I do in some neat little socially acceptable package. It makes the response so much easier when people ask what I do. The truth is though that this work, this freelance title I get to claim, is only part of the work I do. Part of the problem, maybe all the problem, is to do with the focus on paid work as the sole valuable contribution a person makes to society. I work a lot of the time, but only part of it is paid in cold hard money, the rest of the time isn’t only hanging out in the backyard, raising hens, growing veggies and pretending to be domestic. It is about making a more livable community & environment for my child, my family and for other children and families. That means that I now have a little more time to invest in actions that make a difference to what is important to me, political actions, social actions.

I’m lucky enough that this paid gig is with an organization is all about helping Tucson families, TMC for Children. What am I doing? I’m helping with TMC’s expansion of pediatric services from a social media perspective. Check it out, like and follow as appropriate Facebook and Twitter. There is a blog in the works too.

Most importantly, I do get to spend more time with Bean, Green and taking care of my health. Alright, I have more to say on this matter, but I have to get on with the rest of the day. Femivore? Neh, that label isn’t for me. What about you?

1 Comment

Filed under Acting Up, Politics, priorities, Social Media, TMC for Children

One response to “What are you going to do now? Femivore?

  1. I have struggled with the shedding of ‘proper job title’ since having Sweetpea nearly (gulp) ten years ago. I didn’t realise till I had a kid how much of my identity was wrapped up in my career. A decade on, and me freelance as well, it seems to me that if we have an issue with labelling or not, working or not, neat little descriptors or not, it’s our problem, not society’s. It has taken me this long to figure out that it’s all about confidence and being happy in your role, whatever that may be. And that’s my tuppence-worth.

Leave a Reply

