I have a thing for Grasslands

Fort Niobrara National Wildlife Refuge, Valentine, Nebraska

When Green was expounding on the virtues of central Nebraska the other day, he was met with more than a few raised eyebrows. But, I love grasslands. I love the way that something that appears so monotone is actually filled with such diversity. I love how open it feels and how it varies through the seasons. Driving across the Sandhills you get the same sense as you do as you come up on sand dunes on a northern beach: a place a touch wilder than it appears.

Nebraska might not be where I choose to live, but the landscape is stunning; we have family here and you know if there was a cool, sweet town with a least a few like-minded folks I’d be up for it. Oh, and maybe a little milder winter too. As it is we’re having a lovely time. The weather is clear, brisk and we’re eating loads of good comfort food. I might be as large as a bison if I were to stay here.

Fort Niobrara National Wildlife Refuge, Valentine, Nebraska

For a lovely post on Thanksgiving over here

Happy Thanksgiving.

2 Comments

Filed under Explorations beyond Southern Arizona

2 responses to “I have a thing for Grasslands

  1. Erika

    Beautiful photos! Looks like a lovely time!!

  2. Deanna

    I live near Omaha and found you through your comment on that STUNNING picture of soulemama’s… 🙂 I agree about the grasslands – I saw them for the first time last summer and think it’s one of the most beautiful places around. You’re so fortunate to have a piece of land (with a barn!!) in which to potentially lay down roots. 🙂

Leave a Reply

