Green Eggs and Ham

I see green eggs and ham in our future

Oh Liesl, you darlin’ hen. Thank you. Now we can have green eggs and ham.

The hens are starting to lay, despite the crazy heat. So far, Dumpling, Rosy and Lucy (our Rhode Island Reds), Gretchen, and now Liesl, have all laid eggs. This week we’ve typically had 4 eggs a day. Gretchen’s eggs are short, squat, almost spherical and a beautiful deep brown; Dumpling’s eggs are stark white; Rosy and Lucy each a typical beige number.
The thing is you can tell which hen laid the eggs, and not just by the color. The eggs have different shapes, as if the chickens each have differing rates of laying. Like the head of a baby delivered vaginally, the egg may be super pointy if it took it’s merry ol’ time or decidedly flattened and round if it just barreled through. Hmmmm, that sounds familiar. The other thing about the first egg, is that several have been pecked. I think that after laying their first egg, they turn around and peck the egg just to see exactly what all the fuss was about.

Gretchen or Fluffy manage the deep brown egg.

So today’s introduction: Liesl protesting the lack of monsoon. I must say I agree.

Liesl expresses her dismay at the lack of monsoon

11 Comments

Filed under chicken, Cluck, Domestic Diva

11 responses to “Green Eggs and Ham

  1. I had no idea they came out in different colors. Sort of puts the Easter Bunny out of business.

    • There are chickens that produce blue eggs too! If When we add more hens to our flock, I’m thinking a few Partridge Penedesenca that produce deep chocolate brown eggs, and are heat tolerant is the way to go. Mmmmm chocolate. Yes, I know that the eggs won’t taste of chocolate, but they sure are pretty.

  2. They’re just beautiful (the eggs and the chickens).

    And I’m protesting the lack of monsoon rains too!

  3. Beautiful! I love chickens and their colorful eggs!

  4. Mum

    Lovely eggs. Norman asks if they have hard shells. Mum just says, make the most of the sun. Ireland is even wetter than England. No hose pipe ban here.

    • The shells are pretty much perfect. We give the hens oyster shell to make sure they get enough calcium. As for the rain, I think we’ll welcome it. A friend noted on Facebook that the collective status of her Tucson friend updates are “like a Facebook rain dance”, with pleas and promises to wash cars, hang laundry, etc to tempt the rain. Of course it all has been to no avail. We’re looking forward to rain and of course to seeing you.

  5. lia

    I never knew that about eggs. So interesting. I would wash my car too if that would help. Bring on the rain!

  6. congratulations on a beautiful harvest!

  7. littlehousesouthernprairie

    Gretchen and Liesl! Hee hee. Is it wrong that’s my favorite part of the post? 🙂

  8. I might *finally* be convincing my husband on the backyard chicken idea… Can you share your tips on where to start researching raising chickens in the desert? I have many friends raising hens in Portland, but that is a decidedly different climate than Tucson… I’m concerned about the heat and I’m concerned about critters and predators specifically…

    The eggs are beautiful! I hope they were as delicious as they looked…there’s nothing better than a really fresh egg!

Leave a Reply

