Huxley 1997-2010

Huxley

I think most of those who knew Huxley have heard our sad news already. Our dear, sweet boy passed away gracefully this past Friday afternoon with the help of our vet. The tumor on his shoulder had grown substantially and in the past few weeks before we left for Ireland he had begun to show signs of real discomfort . It was an incredibly hard decision to make, but we hope the kindest one. We miss him terribly, that gentle canine soul. In my mind and heart he still is the lovable, goofy, handsome, not terribly bright, puppy who along with Darwin put up with me and then welcomed and loved both Green and Bean when they each joined our family.

I found Huxley at the Humane Society at the end of 1997. He was about a year old, huddled in a corner whimpering. I got him out of the cage and he jumped vertically up, all four legs in the air, and turned around and around and that was that. Shortly, after he came home I had my cardiac arrest at the ripe old age of 27. Huxley (as in Thomas, rather than Aldous or Elspeth) and Darwin (who passed away 18 months ago a month shy of 16 years old), were my constant companions through that stressful recovery. They, along with some very wonderful human friends, saw me through a string of boyfriends and broken hearts, through career changes, through meeting my husband to be and the birth of our child.

Huxley was the retriever that didn’t retrieve, the water dog with a total abhorrence of water, but he was also possibly the most sensitive and in tune dog I’ve ever met. He let children clamber all over, use to roll over and stick his legs wide out to the command “Suzy Sorority” (Me? No, I would never have taught him such a thing. Not me.”). Huxley was one of the few dogs who really could smile when he was happy and he was my loyal sweet boy. I will miss him terribly.

Favorite Things -Birthday #6

18 Comments

Filed under Family

18 responses to “Huxley 1997-2010

  1. RIP Huxley, such a sweet boy. Strength and peace to you, Green and Bean.

  2. What a beautiful post, Rachel. I wish I could’ve met him.

  3. Moni

    Very sorry to hear about Hux. XO

  4. Oh, I’m so sorry for your loss. Huxley sounds like a really special dog, and an important part of your family. I know he will be dearly missed!

  5. Huxley was a one-in-a-million dog! I for one will miss him too. He was always so patient with our kids.

    I’m sorry that he’s gone.

  6. So sorry sweetie. What a sweet dog he was. xo

  7. Oh…I’m so sorry for your loss…Blessings and Peace be with you…

  8. Kirstin

    I’m so sorry to hear about Huxley. He and Darwin were both wonderful sweet dogs. I still remember walking with the 2 of them at the U of A and Huxley walking right up next to Darwin to help him find his way.

    They’ll both live on here, I talk about your boys every year when we do our Genetics unit.

  9. deserthomespun

    so sorry to hear about this – it is so hard saying goodbye…

  10. Mum

    A lovely obituary for a very special friend – mine as well as yours. I met him when he was just out of the kennels and had to have pills for kennel flu. Never met another dog, who would jump for tablets.
    I am sure he is in a doggy heaven with loads of treats

  11. Thanks to all for the Huxley love and your wishes. The house is oddly quiet and the cats are in a funk. The first time in 18 years other than when we were in Italy, that I haven’t had a canine family member in the house. There is a large gap where Huxley use to be and not one that can be filled.

  12. A little late, but so sorry to hear of Huxley. I hope you’re all doing well.

    • Thanks Bobby. I know you and Greg have the big dog love going on up Mesa so know what it is like to have. I hope you don’t have to imagine it any other way for many years to come.

  13. Again, I am so sorry we had to say farewell to Huxley. He was a lovely, sweet, daft lad, and he took such good care of everyone.

  14. littlehousesouthernprairie

    A lovely and sad post. Hugs to you and sending pets to dog heaven for the Hux.

Leave a Reply

