What are you going to do now? Week II

I’m still fielding loads of queries about just what I’m going to do now that I’ve resigned. Rebecca’s brilliant idea was just to share one thing a week. This week was going to be about reclaiming my body, and my health, but I’m not off to a good start, so how about something a little less profound? (These weekly declarations are not in order of importance.)

I’m going to explore my creative and crafty side.

I’m signing up for a photography class, well just as soon as I get my application to our local community college in. The application is at least filled out. I’m finishing off craft projects and moving on to new ones. Along with gathering ideas from dear friends, I’m hatching crafty plans for fund-raising for Bean’s preschool that are fabulous. At least in my head they are. I haven’t tried them or talked to anyone else about them. You’ll see them here if I get anywhere with them. Which reminds me, I need to start a Google Doc to record these supposed crafty genius ideas. Yeah, not particularly crazy, but maybe what I need right now so that I can live my one wild and precious life.

Until then, a rare picture of me with Grandpa’s newly knitted hat. I’ve done this pattern so many times I’m ready to move on, but it works so well.
The last of this pattern for a while
See here it is again: Boyfriend Hat
and here:
Boyfriend Hat again on the needles for Green.
Here, a very tired looking me:
Boyfriend hat for me
Yes, I need to knit something other than this hat for a while.
Father's Day

10 Comments

Filed under Elusive Balance, She's crafty

10 responses to “What are you going to do now? Week II

  1. I love your plan! Exploring your crafty and creative side….wonderful! Can’t wait to hear about your project. I do love that hat. Sending you an AMAZING sweater pattern via email that my sis shared with me….

  2. dragonflywoman

    I support your need to indulge your crafty side 100%! I occasionally fantasize about opening an Etsy shop and trying to do it full time, but I just love the darned bugs too much!

    If you want a new hat pattern to try, I have a marvelous baby hat pattern that I am completely in love with and send to everyone I know who has babies. I’m now sending them to my sister’s friends (I made one 2 days ago!) because I’ve run out of my own friends to make them for! 🙂 Or, knitty.com has some really adorable patterns available if you want to try something completely different. I particularly love this very easy sweater: http://knitty.com/ISSUEwinter04/PATTtempting.html

    • Ooo, I’ll have to save that pattern for a time after the dedication to my physical health has begun to show on the outside. Are you on Ravelry? I’ve just started Citron shawl which is a knitty.com pattern.

  3. KC

    I love those hats! I can see why you would stick to them. I’m going to try it out myself. Thanks for the pattern link.

    I wanted to ask as well where you got the wheat for your beer? I have been looking for local Arizona wheat but haven’t been able to find any growers.

    • The wheat was actually brought up to us by Julie of Native Seed Search. It is called the Sonoran White Wheat and it was definitely tasty. I can’t find it on their website, they have another there, but I’ll try to remember to ask. Check out the Desert Harvesters too.http://www.desertharvesters.org/. If you’re on facebook Desert Harvesters is at http://www.facebook.com/#!/DesertHarvesters

      I think the big Desert Harvester’s event, Pancake Breakfast, is coming up in a week or so time and they will have locally harvested mesquite flour for sale. I’m going to try and make it to buy flour. Mesquite waffles are the best. It looks like Tucson CSA has some local flour.

      Are you going to be going to All Souls Procession? I have a feeling you’d be into it if you’re not familiar with it.

  4. So next week is mummy tummy? J/K but I do hope you can come to the hummus playdate and of course hummus is a health food so that counts (it really does!). I love the hats you made, and am sure you will end up teaching the teacher in your photography class, considering I already thought you were a photog pro. Kinda jealous of your natural talent, ma’am. xo!

  5. Oh my gosh I am so so so in the same boat. My plan: start a blog (check), fix up the house (quarter check), work out (uncheck — got sick, got lazy), look for something else to do (quarter check). Knitting wasn’t on the list but today I finally returned to the Ivy League Vest I had let languish for a couple of weeks.

    Creative school volunteer ideas sound so energizing.

    Best wishes as you set a course for your one wild and precious life. I will check back frequently for inspiration/commiseration.

Leave a Reply

