Photography

A particular friend urged me to sign up for a photography class.
Oh, you’ll be fine, she said to my protests that there wasn’t an artistic bone in my body. Don’t worry, everyone is a beginner. she said to my worries that I’d be hopeless. Eek! They aren’t all beginners in my class, and they’re all bloody art students. I feel like I’m way out of my depth. By Monday, I need to have approximately 60 pictures for a contact sheet. I have about 6 shots that I might put on a contact sheet right now. 54 to go. Oh, and I need to find the artistic bone. No dirty interpretations please.

On a not unrelated note: Melissa, you’re awesome. Thanks for talking me into something that really is a challenge and believing that I’m up for the task.

I’m supposed to do some shots that show fast motion stopped. Hopscotch count?
Wa-hooooooooooo

Pounce

3 Comments

Filed under Attempts at mind expansion

3 responses to “Photography

  1. Oh man, these shots are awesome. I can’t stop looking at them! And how lucky are you that your child will actually permit you to take her photo??? *jealous* Just wait until the first critique day. I had the same thoughts, “they all have more experience than me,” “they’ve all taken photography classes before!” I was terrified walking in, knowing I would have to put my images on the wall for all to see (and comment about — OMG WTF was I thinking when I signed up for this?!). I was shocked to see that half the students apparently stopped on the side of the road on the way to class to do their homework and put very little thought into it at all. Others had awesome work (I’m looking at you, Rachel, Jeremy, Garnette and that girl with the dark hair), but I know, know, know that your fears will go right out the window as soon as your see your images on the wall next to everyone else’s. I can’t wait to talk to you about it afterwards. You’re going to ask yourself what you were so stressed about.

    And as far as that contact sheet — they’re not supposed to be keepers, all 60 of them, not even the majority of them. They’re supposed to show that you tried, for example, to capture the above scene in different ways — changed your SS, got down low to shoot, changed your angle, rather than just standing still in the same place, camera at eye level. If I had to produce 60 keepers, I never would have made it.

  2. Being creative is part of being human. Everyone is “artistic” though not necessarily in the same way or to the same degree. But this type of talent is still equated with a deviant, unstable, or otherwise marginalized personality. So when people say “I’m not artistic”, what they’re really saying is “I’m not weird. Please accept me – I’m just a clod like you.”
    You might end up enjoying photography. Or you might prefer something else. The important thing is to be open to new possibilities and recognize yourself as a creative person. If this seems hard, think how you’d feel if someone told your daugher “you’re just not artistic.” You’d know it wasn’t true, and so would she, even at her age.

  3. Rebecca

    Abso-frickin’-lutely, hopscotch counts! The photos that I’m most proud of, that I’ve ever taken, were some that I took of a certain girl of mine when she was wee – not the ones of exotic locales or interesting people, but the ones of my very own girl. I’m proud that at least part of her childhood was creatively documented, that those dear moments were saved, that I have photos of her like not so many people have of their kid, that she was the subject of the best “art” that I’ve ever created – because that’s what she is. I’ll bet that you did just what I was going to suggest: shoot shoot shoot, edit edit edit, shoot shoot shoot some more. That’s really all there is to it.

Leave a Reply

