Borrowing Meta

For her birth, first, second, skip third, and now for fourth birthdays, I put together a music mix for my Bean. I like to think the mix reflects her stage, her preferences, and sometimes a little of where I’m at (the birth mix was for the hospital, it was all me, all the time) . The birth and year two mixes have had lots of play over the past four years, but the music Bean is responding to is changing and I wanted to capture that this year. Bean’s choices are more in your face, more drums (big surprise), more snap, and feisty, pretty much like her. She loves music, and we don’t play enough for her. That needs to change.

You’ll note there are still lots of ‘kids’ music included in this list, because she likes it, and because I’m not sure I want to admit that some of the stuff she listens to if I think about the lyrics. Nothing violent more innuendo and booze, both of which have made it into this list too, but not so she can tell.

So far the playlist is as follows:
Why Does the Sun Shine – They Might Be Giants
You’re No Rock ‘n’Roll Fun – Sleator-Kinney (fav song at the moment)
The Distance – Cake
Yes, We Have Rhythm – Lunch Money (all about drums, percussion)
Sea Lion Woman – Feist
Me Gustas Tu – Mano Chao
Drawing -Barenaked Ladies
We’re Going to Be Friends – The White Stripes
Free to Be Me – Frances England
My Brother the Ape – They Might Be Giants
My Love Is – Holly Golightly

And then there are the last two. A song for me, the borrowing of meta, Present/Infant by Ani Difranco. The premise behind this song strikes a chord with me today as much as the first time I heard it in concert. I think I should listen to that song every day before I do pretty much anything else and maybe I’ll act accordingly. IronWing’s comment in the last post got me thinking a lot about my impression of self and what I want for my daughter. What I will fight tooth and nail for, for her but apparently not for myself. Ironwing thank you for the comment. I’ve thought a lot about it since reading it while I disagree on one piece (motivation for saying I’m not artistic, but I’ll respond soon in the comments) the rest I’m with you on.

Thought I’d share if you haven’t listened to it recently. A good reminder for all us parents.

The last song, Do-Re-Mi is to compensate for the lack of a year three mix. Do-Re-Me was on constant replay in the house, in the car, in the yard for the better part of a year. It is still popular.

1 Comment

Filed under Sweet Spot of Parenting

One response to “Borrowing Meta

  1. You have really good taste, many similar faves around here (when Ot is awake and when he is sleeping too). I love the idea of doing a playlist for each anniversary. Of marking the year in that way ❤ I wish I had one for each year of myself, in fact. Today's list would be so different than 10 years' ago, or maybe not?

    You are SUCH a GOOD MOM. The fact that you worry so much about this FACT just underscores it. You are awesome and I count myself lucky to be in your orbit. xo

Leave a Reply

