I’m home

Surgery is over. My arm is in a sling, so I’m typing one-handed. Things are sore, but I’m home and I have percocet :).

So let me tell you about the story.

In 1998 I had a cardiac arrest. I was out running with my friend R. and I dropped. I have no memory of that day or in fact of several months before, bar a small snippet from going to an ice hockey game the night before. I was in a coma for several days. My first memory is waking up a week after the event and my father telling me that I’d had a cardiac arrest and that the doctors had implanted a device in me, an AICD, in my breast as a protection against it happening again. He told me so I wouldn’t pull or move dramatically as there were stitches under my breast. He explained why they had put it in my breast, that at the time I was slender enough that anywhere else wasn’t really practical and the doctors thought that cosmetically it would be better. I remember quite vividly what I thought which was basically,

WTF! Hello, breast = secondary sexual organ. What were you thinking when you agreed that was a good idea? Bloody parents.

Yep, not hallelujah I’m alive, but WTF. Ungrateful sod that I am.
I did come to recognize that it was a good thing and this time as the nurse checked out my boob and asked if the doctors were going to put the AICD somewhere else, I told her in no uncertain terms that they’d have some serious explaining to do if they moved it. They didn’t move it.

14 Comments

Filed under Heart

14 responses to “I’m home

  1. elke

    Allo love,
    it’s me, “elke” — so glad to hear you’re freshly charged up and recuperating at home. Enjoy the percocet and all the extra snuggles with your loves.
    cheers
    L.

  2. lia

    Modern medicine is pretty amazing. I’m sure you were not looking forward to another surgery but I’m glad the doctors got you all charged up before anything went seriously wrong. As a mother we are usually the caretakers so take advantage of the couch time and enjoy the TLC.

    I was wondering if you had the option of moving the device when they were in there again?

    • Thanks Lia,
      Yes, I think I have the option of moving it, but it might require moving the leads and that makes things tricky and more difficult. Also, while the whole handful of breast and metal box might not be the most attractive thing, the other options for AICD placement are not great – up around the collar bone or above the lower ribs. In both cases it would stick out on me despite my extra 30 pounds. After I saw the regular placement of an AICD in an ol’ geezer I was friends with in cardiac rehab, I was thankful the placement in my breast. It had an impact on breastfeeding, but it didn’t prevent it.

  3. So glad you are home and that obviously secondary sexual organ, addiction to internet, and wicked sense of humor are still in tact.

  4. so glad to have you back online. what a story. wow. sending love. enjoying getting to know you, blog style. xo

  5. I’m so glad you’re home with your Bionic boob and that you’re doing well ❤ I'm going to come to Crafternoon this week! It's like a twice a year holiday do you think you'll be there? And if not can I bring you some soup (or beer) or just come take a percocet and hang out with you for a while? xo

  6. Oh wow, you’ve had quite a week! Glad you’re home and feeling good. Get well soon!

  7. Wow! I’m so sorry I’ve been out of the loop and didn’t realize you went in for surgery. Glad it all went well. I know how scary surgeries can be. When I had my kidney stone surgeries, I begged the anesthesiologist to be very careful for me during surgery because I had 2 little ones counting on me coming home.

    Take care my friend, and I’m so excited that we’ll be seeing the 3 of your at the end of July!

Leave a Reply

