Rainbow Love

Bean on the Zip-line Photo Credit: Melissa Haun Photography

Bean is a Valentine Girl. Born on Valentine’s Day, she fully embraces the whole heart deal. Last week when we celebrated her 5th birthday it was not Valentine hearts at the party. Bean requested a rainbow theme,
Bean: I want everything rainbow.
Me: Um, okay.
We’re not exactly the themed party kind of family, more the beer, lots of food, let the kids run wildish kind of party house(I’m surprisingly uptight about a few things in the kids rooms, like please don’t tip everything out and then step on it cos it drives me nuts, so we typically go for outdoors.)

Bean decided on the rainbow theme back in October when her Auntie Green was here and they made a sign for the tree house that Green and Grandpa had been working on – The Rainbow Castle. Given our neighborhood population it seems rather fitting.  There is a picture somewhere of me holding her for the first time with Green in the hospital looking tired and elated and in the background you can almost see the rainbow. Bean is truly a rainbow heart girl. So a rainbow theme it was.

The castle was painted, the Full Spectrum Rainbow Cookies  made(I still want to call it a cake, but Debbie is pretty firm on them being cookies and it is her recipe), that Bean begged me to make made. This time we used apricot preserves and just two pans and both worked great. Bean picked out some rainbow like clothes from her closet and voila, a rainbow themed birthday party.

Photo Credit: Melissa Haun

The photographs were taken by my friend Melissa Haun, who is an amazing photographer and really captured the day. Thanks Melissa.

Remember comments on this post and all posts starting with the Dang it, Parent’s Need to Eat Too post whether about food or not, enter you for the Parent’s Need to Eat cookbook giveaway. The Full Spectrum Rainbow Cookie recipe is available on Debbie’s site, not in the book, but there are plenty of other fabulous recipes and tips in the book.

11 Comments

February 18, 2012 · 4:45 pm

11 responses to “Rainbow Love

  1. I cannot wait to see that rainbow playhouse in person. Think Bean will let my little tyke take a gander? 🙂

  2. KC

    I’m pretty sure I saw Bean and Green today in two different places. Out at the St. Philips Farmers Market and REI. Mind you I’ve never met them only seen them on this blog. Am I right? You heart story is really incredible. I’m very happy you’ve lived to tell the tale. I hope all is going well with the new little one. I’ve really enjoyed following along with his adoption story and now your family’s adventure.

  3. What a gem! I hadn’t seen those cookies yet. And I love the story of seeing a rainbow when Bean was born. Love remembering details like that. (And no need to enter me in the giveaway– I’ve already tape-flagged my copy of the book!)

    • Thanks O’ Wordy one. The cookies aren’t in the cookbook, but on her blog. Ignore the suggestion that they’re a lot of work. I don’t actually think they are. Debbie’s recipes are usually so elegant that a little bit of fuss seems complicated, but in true Debbie style this is an awesome recipe.

  4. Those cookies tasted every bit as good as they looked. Yum! Awesome rainbow party as well.

  5. Love the theme, and seeing your happy girl.

    You and your “craftiness” – and that you have energy for all this baking and painting and such – just bowl me over.

  6. so so so cute! awesome photos! love!

Leave a Reply

